Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > FREE Film Shorts Being Shown In Toronto Thursday Eve At enRoute Film Festival By Air Canada

FREE Film Shorts Being Shown In Toronto Thursday Eve At enRoute Film Festival By Air Canada


For the past five years Air Canada and enRoute Magazine (their travel magazine) have put on the “enRoute Film Festival,” which is a festival for emerging Canadian filmmakers to showcase their work – all films at the Festival are ‘shorts’ – and have it seen by large audiences. The way they do this is by having the the selected short films (I don’t know if ‘selected’ means winning or finalists) available for the millions of passengers on board Air Canada flights on the personal entertainment system’s 8.9-inch wide digital in-seat monitors. The idea – from my understanding  – is that this will help spread the word about these up and coming, homegrown talents and help them in achieving their career and industry goals.

Every year there are hundreds of entries but, of course, not all can make it to the finals. These finalist films which were selected by a panel of celebrity judges including Emmanuelle Chriqui (aka Sloan McQuewick from Entourage) and Molly Parker (you may remember her as Alma Garret from Deadwood), directors Atom Egoyan and Jean-Marc Vallée, and producer Don Carmody are being shown at a FREE SCREENING at Scotiabank Theatre on Thursday, November 10 and my friends at the Film Festival’s promotions agency wanted me to tell you you’re invited to check it out!!!

Oh, I should mention that they also told me that film critic Mohit Rajhans and the jury members mentioned above are expected to attend the awards celebration afterwards which I am taking to mean that they will be around during the screening as well.

To review the details of the FREE public screening of the nominated short films will be happening:

Thursday, November 10, 2011

7 pm – 8 pm

Scotiabank Theatre – 259 Richmond St. W., Toronto – Cinema 13

(Google Maps link)

I myself will endeavor to make it but it isn’t looking good because of a prior commitment. But let’s be honest, you’re more interested in seeing the stars and filmmakers than me! Enjoy it, you cinephiles! Don’t forget to let me know how it is in case I don’t make it out, too!

It is actually funny because I was supposed to go to the enRoute Film Festival last year as well but my nephew decided it was a great time to be born so I ended up going down to Florida for his brit (circumcision). I even had to email and say that I wasn’t going to be able to make it and rescind my RSVP because my whole trip was completely last minute. Next year I am totally making it out to this! They say the third time’s the charm right?

The full press release with all the details about the 2011 Air Canada enRoute Film Festival and previews/information about the films is available here http://www.cnw.ca/en/story/870935/air-canada-s-enroute-film-festival-reveals-this-year-s-finalists but as a quick rundown:

The 2011 Air Canada enRoute Film Festival finalists are:

  • Miles Jay and Orlee-Rose Strauss for Blink
  • Timothy Chan for A Starry Night
  • Ashley McKenzie and Nelson MacDonald for Rhonda’s Party

The winner of the Best Short Film Award will receive a cash prize of $5,000 courtesy of Cineplex Entertainment, plus an all-inclusive Air Canada trip for two to the Clermont Ferrand International Short Film Festival in France. Achievement Award winners will also be going to the festival in France courtesy of Air Canada.

Leave a Reply

