Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Visiting The TTC’s Mockup Of The Upcoming Streetcar – The Bombardier Flexity Outlook

Visiting The TTC’s Mockup Of The Upcoming Streetcar – The Bombardier Flexity Outlook


The other day I visited the TTC’s Hillcrest Yard facility in Toronto to see the mockup of the new Bombardier manufactured Flexity Outlook which will be replacing the old TTC streetcars on the streets/rails of Toronto in a couple of years.

I got to sit in the “driver’s seat” – which is a completely separate compartment from the public area. This is because there are a lot of assaults on streetcar drivers…who knew?

One of the other main features was the wider seats they had installed in the cars. If you look at the picture below you can see a wider seat with a regular seat next to it. The wider seat is 1.5 times as wide as the regular seat. I knew when I saw this seat I had to sit in it and get a picture. I sat down in it with my legs comfortably apart (not trying to keep them together as you often do on public transit, more like sitting on a couch at home) and there was still plenty of room for more of me. To be clear, I am not a small guy but I am above average in the height department – I’m 5’10 and 175lbs and these seats were – to me – more than EXTREMELY generous. According to people I spoke to from the TTC this has been one of the most requested features to be added to new public transit vehicles…and they say Canadians are skinnier than Americans as a country!

What do you think of these new streetcars? Can you barely contain yourself until 2013 when they’ll be driving around Toronto?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

