Home > Contemplations > Guitar Pick: One Of A Gadget Geek’s Best Friends

Guitar Pick: One Of A Gadget Geek’s Best Friends


A couple of years back I was using a Nokia N80 and I wanted to change the faceplate from the stock black to silver. In order to do this I immediately went to the internet and started to Google and found a video much like the one you see in the screenshot below and linked here. This video came direct from Nokia (as evidenced by the image in the beginning shown below) so I figured it was pretty trustworthy.

The video told of the need for an SRT-6 Housing Opening Tool which is the little blue triangular thing you see in the screenshot above. Later in the video it showed the usage of this SRT-6 tool and it was to wedge the housing open and disengage a clip on the inside which can’t be seen from the outside. That seemed pretty important because that was exactly what I was trying to do, switch the housing.

It occurred to me that this SRT-6 Housing Removal Tool looked an awful lot like something else which is way more commonplace in most of our every day lives: a guitar pick. Sure the SRT-6 has 3 different edges with, I assume, different thicknesses and it might be better for gropping in the hand and using as a lever when opening gadgets but essentially it’s a guitar pick. You could probably play guitar with an SRT-6 and no one would be the wiser.

Not only do guitar picks fill the role of the SRT-6 but over the years I have found that they are an amazing addition to my gadget tool arsenal. They’re great for wedging underneath a SIM card to ease removal. The same goes for microSD cards.

I will, however, never forget my trip to buy my guitar pick. At first I asked some guitarists I knew if they would part with a pick and they all said no. The next step, obviously, was to find a music store. My friends all pointed me to a chain called Long & McQuade and off I went. I got there and asked one of the sales reps where I could find individual guitar picks. The guy showed me to a rack of little drawers which each had a different size, material, thickness, or make of guitar pick and I started looking. The rep tried to help out by showing me their most popular brand but I took one look and said that it was way too thick. He showed me one that he said his co-workers liked or that was made by a high end guitar pick manufacturer (or something like that) and I rejected them each. He remarked, “Wow, you guitarists are really so picky.” I stifled a laugh and sort of awkwardly replied, “Umm, ya, I don’t play the guitar. In fact, I don’t need this for anyone to play the guitar.” He started laughing and asked what I needed it for. I pulled out my phone and explained what I needed it for he was amazed that I had the same phone as him and he asked me some questions about the device and how to make his work better and then left me to my own devices.

A guitar pick is a great little thing to have for anyone who has a gadget or two in the house and I highly recommend it. It is a really cheap investment and I am sure you’ll find a ton of uses for it.

  1. November 28, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    As a guitarist, I always keep one in my wallet, and another (with a hole punched in it) on my keychain, just in case I come upon a lonely guitar in need of playing. However, I’ve never needed them for playing and used them for just about everything else.
    My family had an old Toyota Tercel with a broken A/C and heat vent that wouldn’t rotate up or down. I just jammed a pick in there and it stayed put for years.
    If you buy a handful, most stores will cut you a deal, so get them in varied thicknesses and, of course, colours.

    • November 28, 2011 at 4:58 pm

      Haha, well as a geek I only keep the one. In retrospect maybe I should have bought more but at the time I didn’t realize how useful it’d be in the future. I thought it was going to be more of a one off usage. Maybe it is time to head back to a music store to grab a couple more of them in, as you said, varied thickness. I don’t think I’ll bother with different colors unless it means different materials OR it means it’ll be see through. See through would be pretty damn cool!

  2. November 29, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    I keep packs around the studio for uses like this. Even bass picks can be used like felt to keep chairs moving easily on the floor.

    • December 2, 2011 at 5:34 pm

      Interesting use for bass guitar picks. I have no doubt my readers appreciate it and wonder how it works out in terms of cost of them vs cost of felt moving pads.

  1. November 27, 2011 at 7:19 pm
  2. November 27, 2011 at 8:39 pm
  3. December 3, 2011 at 9:25 pm

Leave a Reply

