Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Remote Car Starter Is So Great During Canadian Winter!

Remote Car Starter Is So Great During Canadian Winter!


I am not a fan of Canadian winters because I love warm weather and heat. Sure, I like playing and watching hockey and getting out the sled and throwing myself down a hill at breakneck speeds but just going about your day to day life during a Canadian winter sort of sucks.

When I got my 2007 Pontiac G5 GT it was right when the 2008s already were out so my choices were limited for options. I basically got whatever they had available and already put together. It meant I couldn’t get a sunroof but also meant the car I got had an automatic starter. This has proven to be beyond a totally fair tradeoff.

2007-pontiac-g5-gt-with-remote

My G5’s automatic starter will turn on my car’s engine from within the warmth of my home before I get into it. It means that clearing snow and ice from the windshield is that much easier after 5 minutes of hot air has been blowing on it. It means that my engine has warmed up so my car’s heater is well on it’s way to toasty by the time I get into it. It is just awesome.

At first, when I got the car, I didn’t think it would be such a big deal but I was dead wrong. There is nothing like having this and it is just a fantastic option to have on your car if you have the choice available to you. I will grant you that this can be seen by some as “wasting gas” but from what I have been told it is a good idea to let your car’s engine warm up during the winter before you drive and the auto-starter allows you to do just that from the comfort of your home. Is it the most eco-friendly option? No, probably not, but then again it is a Dan-friendly option and you can call me selfish but the Dan-friendly option wins for me.

I have also heard that if you leave your car on with the key in the ignition and it gets stolen then you are at fault, insurance won’t cover it, and you can even get charged by the police for being a public nuisance and wasting the police’s time. This solves that issue by not requiring the key to be in the ignition. As well, there’s no chance of forgetting the engine is running for too long and wasting all your gas. Instead, the auto-starter will turn off the engine after 5 minutes without me putting the key in the ignition. If you try it again, you get another 5 minutes and then it will turn off again and the only way to turn the engine back on is to put the key in the ignition.

Do you have an auto-starter on your car? Is it factory installed like mine or third-party/aftermarket installed? Do you use it daily in the winter like I do? Let me know!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. December 31, 2011 at 11:29 am

Leave a Reply

