Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Tim Hortons Extended Breakfast Hours? Awesome! PLUS: Some Suggestions For Other Changes

Tim Hortons Extended Breakfast Hours? Awesome! PLUS: Some Suggestions For Other Changes


Tim Hortons Breakfast Noon Sign Door Toronto

I went by a local Tim Hortons for a first time in a while this AM – usually I just make my coffee using the tin and a filter at home or work and saw the sign you see on the door above, much to my delight. This was apparently announced in mid November as per the press release here. According to Donna Finelli, Director, Brand Marketing for food at Tim Hortons in the press release, “We heard from our restaurant owners that many times guests would come in and ask for breakfast beyond 11 am only to find they had missed the window. We felt we needed to respond to our guests’ needs.” This, in my opinion, is the reality in our new world ever changed by technology. So many of us telecommute or work from home that “breakfast time” is no longer a fast and hard specific period in the morning it can happen anytime of the day or night. Also, we are used to having every option in the world available to us so why limit us to getting something during specific hours – it isn’t as if they deliver those biscuits they use for the breakfast sandwich from Tim Hortons head office every morning at 5am.

This is another. in my mind welcome, change since they introduced a larger size cup in test markets in August – although we haven’t seen that spread to a wider area since. I have been saying that they needed to do this for years – pretty much since they introduced their breakfast – although I never said they should be extending their hours across all their stores. My idea was always to extend the hours in locations which were on university or college campuses because, let’s be honest, students in post-secondary institutions decidedly do not obey the rules of normal hours.

Beyond extending the hours for university and college locations – which I still think is a fantastic idea and should still be done even with these new extended hours by maybe making breakfast go until 1 or 2 pm daily – I have a few other suggestions for Tim Hortons:

  1. SERVE BREAKFAST ALL DAY EVERY DAY! It’s that simple. People sometimes like to have their breakfast whenever and it shouldn’t really be SUCH a big deal to have it available all the time – in my opinion. Granted I haven’t done any research and don’t know any of the costs associated but this is my blog so I can say whatever I want. Also, the way I figure it, if Dunkin’ Donuts locations do it across the USA then it can’t be such a big deal.
  2. COFFEE ONLY LINE. Maybe this could only be during the morning hours/rush hours but I don’t understand why this has never been contemplated before. People who are buying coffee and only coffee specifically in the morning hours should have their own line. If you’re a coffee drinker then this probably resonates with you big time. I can’t begin to count the times I have been to a Tim Hortons in the morning trying to be on my way as soon as possibly only to be held up because 3 people in line are busy deciding what kind of bagel they want when they get to the front and not before. For us coffee drinkers who just want our fix in the morning this kind of line would be a godsend. You know that the only decision anyone in front of you is making is the size of coffee and if they want cream/milk and sugar/sweetener (and most of us regular coffee drinkers already know exactly what we want and how we want it). No big decisions, no trying to get one thing only to find out they’ve run out and then needing to make a new choice just coffee in that lineup, that’s it. No lattes, no cappuccinos, no teas, just coffee (and maybe not even decaf coffee).

Seems Tim Hortons have yet to update their website though to reflect this new change – oops! Seeing as they made this change almost a month ago, you’d think they would have made the change already to the site. (See below for screen capture just done minutes ago.)

Tim Hortons Breakfast site unchanged

I know this scene from the movie “Big Daddy” is actually about him going to McDonald’s and missing the breakfast but it still probably resonates with anyone reading this who has missed the breakfast serving time. Such a classic scene too! I remember feeling sort of like this the first time I wanted to try the Tim Hortons breakfast sandwich when it had just come out. I walked into a location and got to the front of the line at a 11:52 or so on a weekend and they told me they couldn’t make any more and I got PISSED. It said noon, I was there before noon, I wanted my breakfast sandwich. (Granted in the scene below, Adam Sandler is late for the breakfast but it is still a terrible feeling to be told you ‘missed it’ because of some arbitrary time/schedule.)

  1. March 1, 2016 at 12:27 pm

    I think they should have breakfast all day for the shift working public there are lots of us that would like it at my place of work think about it other fast food place have breakfast all day thank you

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

