Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > #JoeyEaton Was Nomtastic

#JoeyEaton Was Nomtastic


joey eaton centre tweetup crew

Last night I went out to a small tweetup organized by the one and only @ClickFlickCa aka Joallore at Joey Toronto’s Eaton Centre location. I arrived quite late not realizing that the tweetup started at 6 not 6:30 and alas I missed seeing Toronto Maple Leaf Phil Kessel who was hanging out at Joey but I had a fun time nonetheless because I wasn’t there to see Maple Leafs I was there to see some good friends, make some new ones and have some nomtastic food. (Yes, I just used that word in a sentence.)

Joey Eaton Toronto tweetup sign -20111218-00008

Joey Eaton Centre Toronto tweetup sign Szechuan Edamame in the background.

We got some complimentary Szechuan Edamame and Chili Chicken at our tables and got acquainted with each other – there were a lot of familiar faces but some I didn’t recognize which was great because it was a relatively quiet and small tweetup so I got to really say hi to everyone and talk to everyone. This is part of the reason I LOVE Jo’s tweetups, they’re always awesome in the way of the intimate-get-to-know-people-setting and are not just a quick hello to random folks you may not see again for months.

Joey Eaton Centre Toronto Chili Chicken -20111218-00009

Joey Eaton Centre Toronto Chili Chicken.

Then it was time for us to order and I ordered the Ahi Tuna Club. When it arrived I will admit I thought it didn’t look “grilled rare” as the menu suggested when they first brought it to the table but once I bit into it I saw it was decidedly quite rare. It was absolutely scrumptious and I devoured it very quickly…I did find the time to offer some of it to new friend and tablemate @dinobotmoj but thankfully he declined. I don’t know if I would have given him any and was mostly being polite, haha.

Joey Eaton Centre Toronto Ahi Tuna Club Sandwich -20111218-00011

Joey Eaton Centre Toronto Ahi Tuna Club Sandwich

However, the highlight of the night was definitely when Jo asked me if he could buy me a drink. I knew something was up when he asked me if he could choose the drink with a giant smirk on his face but I figured it couldn’t be too bad. What could he order already? I wondered. In a couple of minutes I had my answer. The server brought me a nice hefty shot of Jameson and some yellowish-green substance…Jo had this giant smile on his face and said, “It’s pickle juice!” Not believing him I took a smell and yup, pickle juice it was! I guessed dill pickle juice but not Strub’s or Vlasic, rather one I couldn’t quite place. Our server, Christina, told me I was correct – she actually went into the kitchen to check this insane request, ya she’s that awesome.

Below, check out the little collage I made of the drink and then me drinking it. It was actually quite good but I think a prerequisite is you have to like pickles first (duh). In retrospect I think I was supposed to mix them together in the shot glass which is why it was a double sized glass but I just did it more like a tequila shot, drinking the Jameson and while keeping it in my mouth drinking a bunch of the pickle juice.

@Wedding_crasher was even so kind as to take a video of me drinking this shot – nice of her huh? Check it out here below (HD available):

For all the info about Joey Eaton Centre see below for their online links:

This, below, is a picture I stole from their Tumblr account which shows the exterior of the location (but the account is not updated very often).

Joey Eaton Centre exterior via tumblr

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

