Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > My First Eggnog! (With Rum)

My First Eggnog! (With Rum)


Trying Eggnog at Grindhouse Burger Bar

Nope, I have never had eggnog before last night at Grindhouse Burger Bar during #LoserKaraoke. As you can see in the above screen capped tweet my friend @SachaSayan was the one who introduced me to this holiday drink. I had never had it before because I grew up in an Orthodox Jewish household and although eggnog is – I am pretty sure – kosher, we were not ones who often engaged in Christian traditions and eggnog Christmas-time was one of those. But after hearing about it for about 30 years I decided it was finally time to try the stuff out.

Why the heck did I try it at Grindhouse Burger Bar you ask? Well, long story short, I was sitting talking to Sacha at the bar and inwardly sort of praying we would get up to sing karaoke (we didn’t, our fault for showing up at 1:30am) and he spied a carton of “the ‘nog” behind the bar and asked the bartender about it. Told it was $5 per glass he ordered one. I, never having had eggnog before, related this fact to Sacha and I was somewhat hesitant to try it because he said while it is a decent drink there’s a reason they only sell it during the winter holiday season…would there even be a market for it the rest of the year if it wasn’t tradition? I mulled this over and then Sacha mentioned that our friend @Affan had also recently tried the nog of egg for the first time and Affan had liked it. That settled the decision, I had a sip of Sacha’s eggnog (it helped that the order of eggnog included a hefty dollop of rum!) and thought it was quite alright. I then ordered my own glass of it and the picture you see above was taken for posterity.

If I were to describe it to anyone out there who has never, like me before last night, had eggnog before I would say that it sort of tastes like butterscotch flavored pudding – which I am huge fan of. Still, I don’t know how often I will be drinking eggnog in the future. HOWEVER, there is a reason for me to continue trying it and that is the description of the drink I read on Wikipedia. While I had it with rum according to Wikipedia it is also not uncommon to use Brandy, whisky, bourbon, Kahlua, vodka, or a combination of liquors. This sounds like something that requires further investigation. Also, my friend Meg Button (who’s sort of a Twitter celeb) tells me that “ButtonNog” is way better than regular eggnog so I need to try that soon!

Will I ever have eggnog without alcohol? I’d say a 99% chance of no because why the heck would I bother? One of the funniest reactions to the tweet you see pictured and linked above was @nympsam‘s which you can find here (and is pictured below).

Never Tried Eggnog Tweets @nympsam @SachaSayan @TheDanLevy @AffanWere Affan and I alone? Is it really that messed up as Samantha says? Have you also never tried eggnog or just have tried it for your first time recently? What’s your reason(s)?

  1. December 24, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    When I was a kid my mom would sometimes make eggnog for me when I was sick. Basic eggnog with milk, eggs and vanilla. Now I know that in order to cut down on chance of getting sick from raw eggs, eggs are supposed to either be fertilized (unkosher!) or farm fresh but those weren’t.

    I’m just as happy with soy nog these days. Really, egg nog is about the spices and the booze. (Rum or bourbon.)

  1. January 2, 2012 at 12:19 am

Leave a Reply

