Home > Contemplations > Good Bye 2011 & Happy New Year 2012! (& Screw You #RIDE Hashtaggers!)

Good Bye 2011 & Happy New Year 2012! (& Screw You #RIDE Hashtaggers!)


Canadian Money NYE 2012

So 2011 is at an end and with it the 2011 Post A Day Challenge officially ends too – although I will be keeping it up until January 3rd 2012 to make it a full 365 and I see now reason to stop there. Tonight, I am heading out to two house parties and we will see where else the night takes me. Unlike the someecards.com card pictured below, I am not going to put any significant pressure on myself to have a “fun New Year’s Eve” – well no more so than I do with myself on a  regular basis!

someecards.com - Let's put significant pressure on ourselves to have a fun New Year's Eve

There is a great article written by David Topping titled “When you tweet this New Year’s Eve, use the hashtag #RIDE. Here’s why.” Essentially, people are using the #RIDE hashtag on Twitter to report where police have set up R.I.D.E.* Checkpoints so drunks can avoid them and I agree with his message. As such, I encourage every single one of my readers to do exactly what David Topping suggests in his post and use the hashtag for anything and everything mundane or otherwise you post tonight on Twitter – especially after midnight – so we can clutter up the hashtag’s stream enough to render it useless.

* R.I.D.E. stands for “Reduced Impaired Driving Everywhere”

2008.12.31 @TheDanLevy on New Years

Me on New Year's Eve 2008 right after midnight (so it was technically 2009 already).

To all my readers, I hope you had a great 2011 and you have a fantastic 2012 ahead!

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2012!!!

Canadian currency 2012 via @marcin_z & allmyheartcangive

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

