Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > #HatTrickWineLaunch & Contest For My Readers

#HatTrickWineLaunch & Contest For My Readers


Hat-Trick-Wine-Diamond-Estates

Tonight I have been invited by the fine folks over at Diamond Estates Wines (on Facebook and on Twitter @DiamondEstates) are launching a new kind of wine along with the NHL Alumni called Hat Trick.

From what they have said in the press release they sent me they tell me that the wine is the result of Diamond Estates bringing together three distinctly Canadian elements for the launch of “Hat Trick’ Wine. Toronto, Hockey, and fine Niagara wines come together to create the perfect hat trick of distinctly Canadian elements to host the launch of Diamond Estates newest vintages “Hat Trick White’ and ‘Hat Trick Red’.

Diamond Estates Wines & Spirits Ltd, one of Ontario’s leading winemaking facilities, has partnered with the NHL Alumni Association to come up with the new hockey-inspired VQA wines. Each three-varietal wine blend has been specifically crafted in collaboration between former NHL stars and the winemakers. $0.50 from each bottle sold goes to the NHL Alumni Association to support various charitable causes and promote the game of hockey. Charity is always good in my books which is why I am all the happier to be supporting this event and this wine.  The event will be talked about on the Twitters using the hashtag #HatTrickWineLaunch.

Also, something which sounds just awesome, NHL Alumni Members will be in attendance to comment on the development process of Hat Trick. Attending members include: Johnny Bower, Rod Gilbert, Mark Napier, Lou Franceschetti, Troy Crowder, Dennis Maruk, Ryan Vandenbussche, Jason Zent, Dave McLlwain and more!

CONTEST!

But, I have also decided that it isn’t enough to just tell you guys about an event I am going to because what the heck is the point of me telling y’all about an event you can’t or didn’t attend? This is why I contacted the folks over at Hat Trick Wines and they have graciously agreed to hook up one of my lucky readers with a prize pack! I can’t say what is in the prize pack because, I honestly don’t know right now but I have been told it’ll be damn good!

CONTEST RULES

So here’s the deal: All you got to do is comment on this blog post below about your favorite NHL experience.

You can only comment once and have it count BUT you can get an extra entry per day if you tweet something like this:

I want to win a  Hat Trick Wine prize pack in honor of  #HatTrickWineLaunch from @DiamondEstates & @TheDanLevy http://wp.me/pVpvJ-1eO

The tweet has to have my Twitter handle, Diamond Estates’, a link to this post & the hashtag to be a valid entry.

Contest is open to GTA residents and is will be open for entry until Saturday afternoon at 5 P.M. Toronto time (as evidenced by my blog’s comment system – if it says you posted before then and you followed the rules you’re good to go!).

UPDATE: WINNER ANNOUNCEMENT!

Thank you to all who entered and I wish I could give you all prizes […except the Habs & Sens fans 😉 I kid, I kid!]. I hope to do more such contests in the future and hopefully I will be able to include a further reach than just the GTA.

How I chose: I went through all the tweets that had been tweeted since the contest opened and wrote down the names of the tweeters going back from oldest to newest and assigned them a number starting with (duh) 1. I then went to the comments on this post that fulfilled the requested info – even if it was a Habs or Sens memory – and wrote down those names while continuing the count from the Twitter list. I again started with the oldest and went to the newest. I then went to http://www.random.org/ and used their “True Random Number Generator.” The random number it spat out was matched to the above mentioned list and I had my name.

The winner is….@annecayer with this tweet.

I will be contacting you shortly to get details so I can send it on to the people at Diamond Estates/Hat Trick Wine.

  1. January 30, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    Favourite NHL memory… don’t have any, since I have yet to be to a game at the ACC (hint hint), but meeting Johnny Bower (and other Leafs’ alum) a few months ago at the #CokeZero Party at Real Sports ranks up there. I remember going to games (usually on my birthday) when I was (much) younger with my mom at MLG. We sat under Harold Ballard’s box.

    • January 31, 2012 at 1:35 pm

      I said fave NHL memory for a reason! It didn’t have to be at the ACC, it could have been sitting with a family member watching the game on a Saturday night way past your bedtime. Either way, all those are awesome!!!

  2. January 30, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    My favorite NHL memory is tailgating outside the stadium in full face paint (and yes, a cape) to watch on the big screen with 5 of my friends and 1000 fellow fans as my team fought through a crucial game 7!!! The hockey spirit that night hooked me forever!

    • January 31, 2012 at 1:38 pm

      Awesome memory Jasmine! I love being a group of fellow fans and feeling the energy flow through you.

  3. January 30, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    Oh, boy, that’s tough. Father Bower was my chaplin during University, he was a wise man. I’ve been on the ice during at the ACC during a period break and scored a goal on the net, and I have played street hockey with some Leafs players. But still, I would have to say, sitting on the sofa, next to my Dad watching Hockey Night in Canada while I was growing up. That would be it.

    • January 31, 2012 at 1:39 pm

      Wow, on the ice at the ACC? Colleen that is beyond cool. Also, LOVE that you still rank watching HNiC with your dad on the sofa above that! Great memories, thanks for sharing!

  4. Ari Fudim
    February 1, 2012 at 11:04 am

    Perhaps the Guys at Diamond Estates would be interested in a cross marketing promo with real diamonds? check me out @YorkGems! or don’t…..at least I got an entry in!!!

    • February 1, 2012 at 11:38 am

      Maybe they will be! I will be sure to provide them with your contact info when/if they ask!
      Also, hate to tell you but that comment doesn’t count as an entry as there’s no NHL memory mentioned in it and rules are rules.

  5. February 1, 2012 at 11:24 am

    My favourite NHL memory was when my dad took my brother and I to Maple Leaf Gardens to see the Leafs play. He got two free tickets from his boss and he bought a standing room only ticket so that my brother and I could sit in the seats. Good times!

  6. Ari Fudim
    February 1, 2012 at 11:39 am

    OK, I’m gonna take my chances here and illegally enter a 2nd post! Since my stupidity led to an unofficial first post, I will entertain the audience with my favourite NHL memories; Similar to “colleen C”, I’d have to say that the spring of 1993 will forever be etched in my memorybank. Sneaking downstairs during passover seders to watch Patrick Roy and The Montreal Canadiens win overtime after overtime to hoist the Stanley Cup!! The excitement, the nervousness, the innocence of youth and the canon of an NHL that existed long before me and will, hopefully, provide everlasting memories to my own children long after I’m gone!

    But seriously…Diamond Estates, Diamond Earings…its a match made in heaven 🙂
    Keep up the good work LNN!

  7. February 1, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    When I was 10 my mom thrust me onto Doug Gilmore’s lap at a hockey game in Buffalo to get his autograph. For her.
    This prize pack may make up for the fact that my mom exploited me…

    • February 1, 2012 at 5:13 pm

      Thanks for the laugh Jamie! (I actually laughed out loud)
      I wouldn’t worry about being exploited because I think we know who’s inheriting that autograph one day!!!!

  8. February 4, 2012 at 10:12 am

    This won’t make me very popular, but here we go. In the spring of 1993 while Toronto cheered and then groaned and then got angry I cheered and cheered and cheered some more as Patrick Roy and the Montreal Canadiens won the Stanley Cup. I was raised a Habs fan inside of Leaf Nation and this remains my biggest chip in trash talk attacks. Bring on the hate and I know this year hasn’t been good for the Habs – but that is my favorite NHL memory.

  9. February 4, 2012 at 11:06 am

    It’s funny, I have NEVER been to a Leafs game. I’ve just enjoyed watching them on TV and still do watch as many Leafs games as I can. So I don’t really have an NHL memory from being at a game. My memory is not an NHL memory per se, but it is related to the NHL…the first Tragically Hip song I ever heard was 50 Mission Cap, which of course is about Bill Barilko, former NHL/Maple Leafs player. This song turned me on to the band, which remains my favourite band to this day.

    Does that count? 🙂

    • February 7, 2012 at 2:43 pm

      Sure that counts. I said NHL experience not watching a Live NHL game experience.

  10. February 7, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    I have a few gems of my own:

    – Going to my first game with my dad when I was really young at Maple Leaf Gardens and then while we were going back where we parked watching some guy ‘beating up’ his car and yelling at it “Friggin’ car!” At the time I didn’t know what the word “Friggin'” meant and remember asking my dad about it. I assume the guy lost a bunch of money gambling on the game.

    – Watching the Leafs play the Islanders in Long Island in the 2002 Playoffs cheering my brains out amidst a sea Islanders fans (I was a sole Leafs fan – wearing my jersey – and my buddy was across the arena cuz we could only get single seats). Towards the end of the 3rd Period I remember someone threaten me to shut up or he would violently shut me up and my entire row stood up for me and told the guy threatening me to be quiet and enjoy the game.

    – Going to a Leafs practice at Ricoh a couple of years back and meeting Mats Sundin in the parking lot afterward. I got him to sign my jersey.

    – Finally, I have to throw this in, hearing that Kerry Fraser was finally retiring after all the damage he had done blowing major calls in high stakes situations – that was definitely a happy NHL moment for me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

