Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > 2012 Book A Fortnight Summary & Happy New Year!

2012 Book A Fortnight Summary & Happy New Year!


stacked-books-for-research-in-a-library

Happy New Year 2013. Remember my Book A Fortnight Challenge? Well not only did I complete it, I killed it! The goal was to read 26 books in the 52 weeks that were 2012 which ends up being a book a fortnight (a fortnight being 2 weeks). My final count for the year? 43 books read! That means that I read approximately 80% of a book each week (on average) throughout the course of the year! I have the full list of books read below but I didn’t include a 44th book I read – Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card – because I have read it a bunch of times before so wasn’t sure it should be included in the final tally.

I have organized the below in my own categories and subcategories. I have grouped together some books by series and kept books by the same author close to each other. As well, the links I have provided for the books – for anyone who wants to read them themselves – link mostly to the Toronto Public Library.

Without the Toronto Public Library this would have been an extremely expensive challenge and so I encourage anyone reading this who lives in Toronto to check them out (the library system as well as the books from the library). It is so simple to do that you don’t even have to go browse to find books anymore! Assuming you already have a library card/account just go to the link (or search the library site yourself), click “Place A Hold,” tell the system where you want the book to be held for you, and then just wait for them to email/call you (your choice) and go pick up the book(s) on a special hold shelf. Done! In and out of the actual, physical library in under 5 minutes!

I have also put books I highly recommend everyone check out in bold. Other books I have added my own $0.02 in on what I thought about them if I thought they were especially good or otherwise.

Thought Provoking/Intelligent/General

Humor

Sci-Fi

  1. Danah
    January 2, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    I am so happy you out did yourself on this challenge. Thanks for the list as well!

  2. January 2, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    Great job! I might try this idea with the public health genera.

    • January 14, 2013 at 11:23 pm

      Do it! It’s so great!

  3. January 8, 2013 at 2:04 am

    The REAL question is when you’re going to read all the books in BETWEEN Ender’s Game and Shadows in Flight! That series is some MADNESS. Love it to death!

    Congrats on your successes, man!

    • January 14, 2013 at 11:22 pm

      I have read them! Ender’s Game is one of my favorite books of all time so I’ve reread it a bunch of times. I decided to reread it when they announced the movie (coming out this year) was finally going into production.

  1. February 19, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Leave a Reply

