Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Tasting The Macallan 1824 Series Scotch at #RaiseTheMacallan

Tasting The Macallan 1824 Series Scotch at #RaiseTheMacallan


#RaiseTheMacallan Toronto Marc Laverdiere, Carly-Anne Fairlie, Dan Levy

Carly-Anne Fairlie & I saying goodbye to a man who educated us in the ways of The Macallan 1824, Marc Laverdiere.

On Wednesday, February 5 I was given the opportunity to taste the new creations from the brilliant minds over at The Macallan distillery in Scotland, their brand new 1824 Series. The series was named after the founding year of The Macallan distillery.

Wristband RaiseTheMacallan Toronto

When I got to #RaiseTheMacallan which was at the Shangri-La Hotel in downtown Toronto I was given a wristband to prove I was legit and, because I had run a bit late, I went straight into the tasting room as opposed to the cocktail time which had preceded the tasting session. (Wish I had made it for that! That’ll teach me to leave really super early when there’s a snowstorm!) I was riding solo because of the snowstorm so I was lucky that my friend Carly-Anne aka @carlyannedotcom was there to hang out with…because no one wants to drink, er taste, alone!

The Macallan Scotch Whisky Tasting was hosted by Marc Laverdiere, a Scotch Ambassador for The Macallan and a man who knows his whisky…interestingly enough though, he has a French accent!

Macallan 1824 Series Toronto Tasting #RaiseTheMacallan

When we sat down it was a very similar setup to the previous time at an event hosted by The Macallan, #MacallanTO. There are 4 new types of The Macallan in the 1824 Series. Going from lowest to highest price point they are: Gold, Amber, Sienna, and Ruby. They were, as expected, each delicious in their own ways but my favorite was the Sienna. It was also interesting how the folks over at The Macallan are now moving away from telling us ages of the single malt scotches and instead are referring to them by color.

1824 Series The Macallan in glasses

Because I am a helpful guy, I have included links to all of the 1824 Series listings on the LCBO’s website below along with the price as of March 19, 2014.

Happy “tasting”!

Have you tried the 1824 Series yet? If so, which was your favorite?

  1. secret info
    July 3, 2014 at 12:06 am

    Greetings! I’ve been reading your weblog for some time now and finally got the bravery to go
    ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Texas!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent job!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

