Home > Contemplations > WordPress App Tip: The Difference Between “Phone Draft” & “Draft”

WordPress App Tip: The Difference Between “Phone Draft” & “Draft”


This is something I learned myself when I started blogging regularly and used my phone to blog when I was out and about – like tonight.

There are two options for saving a draft in the WordPress app for BlackBerry or Android and I’m pretty sure any other version of the app. There’s “Phone Draft” (as seen below) and “Draft” (as seen in the second picture).

You may be wondering what the heck is the difference between these two. Not to worry! I did exactly the same wondering. I figured it out for you though. The difference is actually very key. It spells the difference between being able to edit your post online from the web interface and not.

If you try and just leave it as a “Mobile Draft” WordPress will merely save it within the app. The other thing you have to make sure you do when you click the selector to “Draft” is to SEND the draft. This will not publish the post, so don’t worry about that. It will merely save it as a draft and push it to the web which is very useful if you want to finish up your post on your computer.

It is beyond me why WordPress decided to do this but that is the way they have structured their app. We just have to live with it. The bright side is it gives someone like me the ability to write a blog post about it in my PostADay Challenge. Therefore, I’ll take that as a win. 😉

  1. August 31, 2011 at 12:17 am

    I happen to know the reason why and have used it. If you’ve been writing something where there is no signal, then you can save it as a phone draft and switch it when you do. Have used it on the subway more than once. Happy blogging!

    • August 31, 2011 at 1:49 am

      Fair point Shanta. For my purposes, I will usually just leave the app open in the background and then upload when I am out of the subway. But I see what you mean 100%.

  2. August 31, 2011 at 5:36 am

    This one confused me for a short while to. I was a bit concerned when my draft didn’t appear on the site admin. I can see why they did it this way, maybe different wording would have save a few heart palpations on my part.

    • September 1, 2011 at 2:21 am

      Totally hear that and happy to have helped cleared it up. But Shanta’s point above, where she mentioned it is for when you have no service makes sense. I just think they maybe could have done it in a better way…maybe let people know from the outset what the difference is or note it in some way upon installation of the app.

  1. August 31, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Leave a comment