Home > Contemplations > I Am A Technology Addict: What Yom Kippur 2011/5772 Taught Me

I Am A Technology Addict: What Yom Kippur 2011/5772 Taught Me


I am a technology addict. It is true.

Last night about an hour after I posted yesterday’s post I sat and wondered if anyone had commented. Because I had decided to do Yom Kippur as by the book as possible – see yesterday’s post for the rules – I couldn’t see if anyone retweeted or commented on my post.

I had turned off my BlackBerry Torch, my BlackBerry PlayBook, and my laptop and it drove me bonkers all day.

Yes, I am an addict. I couldn’t see what was going on on Twitter and I really wanted to know! I truly do not understand all those people who say how relaxing it is when they shut off their devices and go for a “digital cleanse,” I did one 25 hour period and hated it! I guess it is a good thing that my addiction is – for the most part – completely socially acceptable and totally legal otherwise I’d be in trouble. Note to self: China probably isn’t the greatest place for me to visit. Thankfully, I only do this “digital cleanse”  – aka Yom Kippur – once a year so I don’t have to even think about disconnecting again until Fall 2012 but for me that one day is more than enough.

Are there times when you disconnect? Is it a regular occurrence like Yom Kippur is for me? How long do you disconnect for and how does it affect you?

Clipart image via Microsoft Office.

  1. October 9, 2011 at 10:21 am

    I loved my technology fast and wanted to keep it going. I dreaded checking email, Twitter and Facebook again, yet I did so at the potluck break fast after neilah to ask a friend who’d been there if he’d left his book behind. That small act of turning on again bothered me. I wanted to at least wait until I was home and keep the good feeling going.

    I want to keep some form of technology fast going, such as marking all of my RSS feeds as read without reading them (though I just did a quick scan – hence me replying to this post – so I guess I’ve failed at that).

    I didn’t even nap yesterday. I shul hopped and spent time in a park with some new friends. You’ve got to take in some downtown Jewish culture with me some time. This YK did change me, though, and I hope I can carry that forward without going back to old habits.

    Hope you had an easy fast.

    • October 9, 2011 at 8:20 pm

      What can I say Andrea…we are very different people haha. Thanks so much for the comment and maybe I will take you up on your downtown Jewish culture offer sometime soon. We will discuss.

      • October 10, 2011 at 12:14 am

        Don’t get me wrong, I flip out like everyone else when an unexpected internet outage happens. This one was anticipated. Also, part of me felt like I was missing out on that nap. It’s ritual.

  1. September 23, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Leave a comment